What Are the Various Types of Indian eVisa?

Understanding the Diversity of Indian eVisa Types

India offers various types of eVisas to cater to the diverse needs of travelers. From tourism to business ventures, each eVisa type serves different purposes and comes with specific requirements. Let’s delve into the types of Indian eVisas available and explore their characteristics.

Types of Indian eVisa Available

Here’s a comprehensive guide to the different types of Indian eVisas:

  1. eTourist Visa:
    • Designed for travelers intending to visit India for tourism, sightseeing, or visiting friends and family.
    • Allows for short-term stays of up to 90 days, with double entry permitted within the validity period.
    • Not applicable for activities such as work, study, or journalism.
  2. eBusiness Visa:
    • Ideal for individuals traveling to India for business purposes, such as meetings, conferences, or exploring business opportunities.
    • Valid for short-term stays of up to 180 days, with multiple entries allowed during the validity period.
    • Requires a letter of invitation from an Indian company or organization.
  3. eMedical Visa:
    • Intended for individuals seeking medical treatment in India, including consultations, surgeries, or specialized treatments.
    • Allows for triple entry within a validity period of 60 days, with extensions possible in certain cases.
    • Requires documentation from a recognized medical institution in India detailing the treatment plan.
  4. eConference Visa:
    • Granted to participants attending conferences, seminars, workshops, or similar events in India.
    • Valid for a single entry and duration as specified in the invitation letter from the conference organizers.
    • Applicants may need to provide proof of conference registration and accommodation arrangements.
  5. eMedical Attendant Visa:
    • Accompanies a patient traveling on an eMedical Visa and is available to two attendants per patient.
    • Allows for triple entry within a validity period of 60 days, with extensions possible in certain cases.
    • Requires documentation confirming the relationship between the patient and the attendant.
  6. eTransit Visa:
    • Designed for travelers transiting through India to reach their final destination.
    • Valid for short stays of up to 4 days, with double entry permitted during the transit period.
    • Does not allow travelers to exit the airport or engage in any activities outside the transit area.



In conclusion, understanding the various types of Indian eVisas is crucial for travelers planning a visit to India. Whether it’s for tourism, business, medical treatment, conferences, or transit, there’s an eVisa category to suit every traveler’s needs. However, it’s essential to adhere to the specific requirements and guidelines associated with each eVisa type to ensure a smooth and hassle-free application process. By choosing the right eVisa category and providing accurate documentation, travelers can maximize their chances of approval and enjoy their visit to India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *